Khupe’s MP replaces Chalton Hwende

By Mutsa Makuvaza

SPEAKER of the House of Assembly Jacob Mudenda has announced that MDC-T legislator Peter Moyo has been nominated to chair the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Information, Communication and Technology (ICT), taking over from Chalton Hwende of the MDC-A who was recalled.

Moyo is the MP for Southerton in Harare.

Mudenda also announced that another rookie MP for MDC-T, Yvonne Musarurwa, will sit on the Portfolio Committee on Environment and Tourism. Musarurwa replaces former PR MP Concillia Chinanzvavana who Khupe recalled.

Furthermore, yet another MDC-T legislator Lindiwe Maphosa will sit on the Portfolio Committee on Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development.

This comes after Khupe removed Hwange Central MP Daniel Molokele from the chairmanship of the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Higher and Tertiary Education.

Daniel Molokele

Maphosa, 39, came into Parliament in 2018 through a proportional representation (PR) seat in Matebeleland South under the MDC Alliance party list, but switched allegiance to Khupe.

MP Lindiwe Maphosa

Sipho Makone, also another of the MDC-T MPs who came in to replace their rivals recalled by Khupe, will sit on the Portfolio Committee on Information Media and Broadcasting Services.

Makone replaces recalled Binga North MP Prince Dubeko Sibanda.

Makone and Musarurwa were sworn in in early October under the PR mechanism. – Zimbabwe Voice

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
A note to all Zimbabwe Voice News website visitors:

We use cookies to improve our service for you. You can find more information in our Privacy Policy page.