PoliticsTop Stories

Mwonzora expels 11 Harare Councillors (FULL LIST)

By Mutsa Makuvaza

THE opposition MDC-T led by Thokozani Khupe has sent packing eleven (11) Councillors of the City of Harare, resulting in the city’s Town Clerk writing to the Minister of Local Government to call for by-elections.

In a letter dated 11 September and originated from the town clerk’s office, the fired Councillors include Lovemore Makuwerere of Ward 34 and Gilbert Hadebe of Ward 39.

The following have also been fired: Munyaradzi Kufahakutizwi, Simon Mapanzure, Charles Chidhagu, Keith Charumbira and Steven Dliwayo.

Barnabas Ndira, Charles Nyatsuro and Enoch Mupawamombe have also been sent home.

According to Section 121 of the Electoral Act, July Moyo, the local government Minister, will have to advise the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) of the vacancies, leading to the setting up of dates for the by-elections.

The ZEC chairperson, Justice Priscilla Chigumba, last week advised that US$18 million will be spent to fill the seats in by-elections across the country to be held by 5th December this year,

Most of the seats fell vacant as a result of political factionalism in the rival MDC camps, one led by Khupe and another by Nelson Chamisa. Khupe has had the upper hand in the fights, buoyed by the Supreme Court ruling of March which deemed Chamisa’s succession of Morgan Tsvangirai as unconstitutional.

Douglas Mwonzora, the secretary-general of the MDC-T, has previously warned that his party had no appetite to recall elected officials, but would be left with no option if the officials openly defied Khupe’s leadership. – Zimbabwe Voice

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button